Member Search

Meritorious Service Award


The deadline for nominations for the 8th annual Meritorious Service Award has been extended to AUGUST 31. Please continue to submit nominations until that time. 

The Association of Shelter Veterinarians is pleased to announce the 8th annual Meritorious Service Award to be presented at the 2017 ABVP Symposium. The award was established in 2010 to honor a remarkable ASV member for their contributions to the advancement of shelter veterinary medicine through leadership, public service, research, education, advocacy, and/or clinical practice. All ASV members, except current board members, are eligible to be nominated.

The ASV's intent in conferring this award is to bring attention to excellence in shelter medicine by recognizing those who serve as exceptional ambassadors of the profession. The award will be presented at ASV’s annual meeting at the American Board of Veterinary Practitioner’s Symposium this October 5-8th, in Atlanta. The award designee will receive a plaque, a shelter medicine textbook, and a $250.00 donation to an organization of his/her choice. S/he will receive up to $1500 in reimbursement for travel to the Symposium and annual meeting. 

Nominations must include an official nomination form, cover letter with a brief sketch of the nominee's professional background and a statement pertaining to the individual's qualifications for the award, and the resume/CV of the nominee. Letters seconding, endorsing or supporting nominations for awards will not be used in evaluating candidates. Please note that self-nominations are not accepted.

The nomination deadline has been extended to August 31. Please send them to the attention of Dr. Lesa Staubus, Nominations Committee Chair, at

Please submit your nominations today!

Previous honorees:

ABVP 2016: Dr. Julie Levy, University of Florida

ABVP 2015: Dr. Phil Bushby, Mississippi State University

ABVP 2014: Dr. Lila Miller, ASPCA

NAVC 2014: Dr. Brenda Griffin, University of Florida

NAVC 2013: Dr. Kelly-Ann Rada, Humane Ohio (awarded posthumously)

NAVC 2012: Dr. Julie Bailey, Animal Shelter Inc.

NAVC 2011: Dr. Jennifer Scarlett, San Francisco SPCA